[Central Valley Next-Generation Broadband Infrastructure Project]
CVIN: a joint enterprise of affiliates of independent telephone companies in central and northern California.
CENIC: providing advanced networking and services to all of California's public research & education and many private and independent universities and other research institutions.
* * * * *
[CVNGBIP Alliances & Services: Target Anchor Institutions]

There are approximately 1190 library sites across California connected to the Internet. Of this total, 181 are identified as County/Main Libraries. Within the 18 counties, there are 20 County/Main Library sites. It is through these 20 sites that 201 sites in the region are connected to the Internet.

Two groups of counties have formed cooperatives to share library resources and to achieve economies of scale in administering their library operations. The San Joaquin Valley Library System serves Kern, Tulare, Kings, Fresno, Madera, Merced and Mariposa. The Mountain Valley Library System serves six counties that are part of this project including: Nevada, Sutter, Yuba, Placer, El Dorado and Colusa as well as several others outside this project.

This project will directly fiber-connect the 20 County/Main Libraries as anchor institutions. The other 181 sites will be connected through these anchors via leased circuits or direct fiber.

County/Main Libraries:
  • San Joaquin Valley Library System:
    • Fresno County Public Library
    • Kern County Library
    • Kings County Library
    • Madera County Library
    • Mariposa County Library
    • Merced County Library
    • Porterville Public Library
    • Tulare County Free Library
    • Tulare Public Library
  • Mountain Valley Library System:
    • Colusa County Free Library
    • El Dorado County Library
    • Nevada County Library
    • Placer County Library
    • Sutter County Library
    • Yuba County Library
  • Amador County Library
  • Calaveras County Library
  • Stanislaus County Free Library
  • Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library
  • Tuolumne County Library

[Who Is the CVNGBIP]
Project Mission & Vision
Partnership Overview
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact the CVNGBIP

[CVNGBIP Overview]
Project Scope
Technical Components
Project and Area Maps
County by County Information
Support for the CVNGBIP

[Community Alliances]
Target Anchor Institutions
Public Safety
Government Agencies
Business Services
Residence Services

     www.cvngbip.org info@cvngbip.org Copyright © 2011 CENIC. All rights reserved.